End of the Year

In the states May was always a crazy month–end of the school year, etc.  Imagine combining May with the November/December holiday season.  That is Namibia.  Their school year is ending this Friday and there is every kind of end of school program coupled with the Christmas program and birthday parties.  Most Namibians flee the harsh Namibian sun and go to the coast during December so if your child has a birthday in December or January you had better have the party in November or no one will be in town to come.  Windhoek supposidly becomes a ghost town during December/January and even some grocery stores close for a vacation.  This is hard for me to understand since I am coming from Wal-mart country where Wal-Mart is ALWAYS open except on Christmas Day!  I am looking forward to having a break though.  Paul and I were talking tonight that we are feeling very “pressed” and need some good sleep.  Miss Susan is sending us away to a very cool game lodge Saturday and Sunday and we can’t wait.  The Lord’s timing is perfect adn we are looking forward to some rest, relaxation and big game spotting.  I will post some pictures when we get back.  If you want to check out where we are going, it is called Erindi Game Lodge. 

Audrey and Charlie are stars in their Christmas play at school and the teachers laugh that Charlie is often a “falling star” since he gets tired of practicing and falls to the ground in a heap.  I can just imagine!  Anyway I had to make their costumes out of silver lame.  I am a hack seamstress so this was a hard assignment especially since the fabric pulls and puckers like crazy.  I am sure there is a trick to sewing with that type of fabric since I examined the other star costumes and none of them looked like mine.  Oh well!  Since Charlie will most likely be a falling star no one will see where the neck of his costume is fraying!

Chapman is having his 8th birthday party on Friday and is having a paintball war.  Paul will be supervising and all I need to do is make sure they have food and drinks.  This may be the easiest birthday party we have ever done and I know all the little boys are looking forward to it.  We sure would like to import some boys from the US too! (Corbin, Caleb, Grayson, Terry, Max, Josiah, Luke and Cooper we sure miss you!)

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “End of the Year

  1. We missed Chapman at Max’s party, too! We had it at the Gymnastics Joe’s in the mall. No, it’s STILL not officially open yet but Joe was hastily cutting and taping floor down as the guests arrived. It was fun, but would have been much more so with the Chapman there (and my little Charlie, of course)! Missing you!!!!

  2. Shirley

    missing you guys here in America as we have all our”normal” festivities…praying for a great new year for all of you…

  3. Jenny

    BETSY!!
    So fun to catch up on all the goings on in your life! Chris was on Sabbatical this summer and as always, I’m just spinning plates like mad, so I had lost track of your blog this summer. But I think of you and pray for you all often! You all are SO missed! Rachel updates me some. I pray our paths cross again; with my wandering spirit, maybe I will get to Namibia!
    We love you guys and I’m sorry I’m such an out-of-touch friend!

  4. Erika Lewis

    I am waiting for pictures and a post…. you have totally dropped the ball on your blog!! 🙂 We miss you!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

